Worlds colliding

I’ve been busy at work, and shooting my bow, so my 15mm terrain project goes too slowly. I did buy some 6cm trees in eBay (N HO scale), which are now glued to cents and waiting for a decent basing job.

I got 20 of them for less than 10€ including shipment costs, so I think they were a good investment. If you want the name of the seller, just leave me a comment 😉 .

miniature trees
N HO 6cm trees with marine from RebelMinis

Like with the marines before, good basing tips for those trees will be welcomed 🙂 . I need something easy, cheap and good-looking… I know, that’s too much.

 

Patrick Rothfuss + Numenera + Planescape

In addition to a bad photo of my trees, and begging for advice, I need to share something I found out today. Three worlds surprisingly close…

Patrick Rothfuss is a fantasy writer, author of two books of great success, part of an unfinished trilogy: The Name of the Wind, and The Wise Man’s Fear. I strongly recommend you to read them, great story with great characters. I’m eagerly waiting for the last volume of the trilogy which is already behind schedule, but nothing as painful as Mr. Martin’s neverending Game of Thrones…

I wrote about Numenera, one of the other worlds colliding, and how I missed its Kickstarter. It’s a new RPG by Monte Cook, which looks very good, although some of the last illustrations released were too ordinary fantasy. The setting describes a future world with lost technology which is similar to magic for those without the knowledge.

Planescape: Torment, the last of the three, was a computer RPG published in 1999, and had some of the best dialogues and stories every written for a computer game. From Wikipedia:

Planescape: Torment is primarily story-driven; combat is given less prominence than in most contemporary role-playing games. The protagonist, known as The Nameless One, is an immortal who has lived many lives but has forgotten all about them, even forgetting his own name. The game focuses on his journey through the city of Sigil and other planes to reclaim his memories of these previous lives. […]

The game was not a significant commercial success but received widespread critical praise and has since become a cult classic. It was lauded for its immersive dialogue, for the dark and relatively obscure Planescape setting, and for the protagonist’s unique persona, which shirked many characteristics of traditional role-playing games.

Three worlds which are colliding in the new game Torment: Tides of Numenera, a new computer RPG being developed as a Kickstarter.

Torment game capture
Your quest will take you to alternate dimensions and distant worlds under strange suns…

Of these three worlds, the one I’m more interested is in Patrick Rothfuss finishing his trilogy 🙂 . You could think it upsets me to read that he is working in this computer game instead of finishing my trilogy, but according to his blog, it may be speeding up the writing 😀 . Good news!

Which world do you prefer?

Leave a Reply

